Saturday, 25 March 2017

A history of 14 medals means Ugandan juniors team to beat at #IaafKampala2017

Kiplimo dominated the national junior trials earlier this year.
He will lead Uganda's challenge for a medal Sunday

Uganda has a very strong record in the junior events of the World Cross Country championships, having bagged a stunning 14 medals in the last 14 editions.

Spurred on by Boniface Kiprop, Uganda won their first team junior medal in 2000, which was followed by seven more victories for the Under-20 runners.

Kiprop himself bagged individual bronze in 2002, which he followed up with silvers in 2003 and 2004.

PHOTO: Kiprop (middle) led for most of the event in 2003, before being beaten by Kipchoge (left).

Since 2000, Uganda has bagged 5 junior men's individual medals, 8 junior men's and 1 junior women team medals. The senior men have bagged four medals, while the women 1.

Uganda's Juniors will this time be led by Jacob Kiplimo, world junior 10,000m bronze medalist last year. As a 15-year-old, Kiplimo was the country's youngest athlete at the Olympics last year where he finished 11th in his heat.

Having missed out on medals in the last two editions, this is certainly the year for the Uganda junior men to bounce back.

The men's record in the senior event, has Moses Kipsiro written all over it. He won individual silver and bronze in 2009 and 2010  and was part of the Uganda team's bronze medal winning efforts in 2007 and 2011.

The World Cross Country Championships consists of five races: one each for men (12 km) and for women (8 km); and one each for junior men (8 km) and for junior women (6 km) plus a mixed relay. 

PHOTO: Kipsiro (middle), Uganda's only senior medalist before. Cheptegei favourite to emulate him.


14:0014:00XMixed RelayFinal
14:3014:30WU20 RaceFinal
15:1015:10MU20 RaceFinal
15:5515:55WSenior RaceFinal
16:5516:55MSenior RaceFinal

1973 Spain18 Italy22 England24
1974 United States22 Morocco58 Italy90
1975 United States29 Ireland35 Spain44
1976 United States16 Spain60 England91
1977 United States36 Spain40 Canada67
1978 England53 Canada53 Spain54
1979 Spain57 England74 Soviet Union75
1980 Soviet Union50 United States75 Spain79
1981 United States23 England61 Canada66
1982 Ethiopia12 Italy37 United States70
1983 Ethiopia13 Spain41 England58
1984 Ethiopia21 Spain34 England68
1985 Ethiopia16 Kenya26 Spain64
1986 Ethiopia13 Kenya32 Spain52
1987 Ethiopia19 Kenya20 Japan73
1988 Kenya12 Ethiopia33 Spain61
1989 Kenya14 Ethiopia22 Italy76
1990 Kenya12 Ethiopia27 Italy85
1991 Kenya19 Ethiopia26 Tanzania54
1992 Kenya18 Ethiopia28 Japan90
1993 Kenya10 Ethiopia27 Morocco76
1994 Kenya18 Ethiopia27 Morocco78
1995 Kenya23 Ethiopia25 Morocco72
1996 Kenya13 Ethiopia26 Morocco94
1997 Kenya13 Ethiopia31 Morocco74
1998 Ethiopia16 Kenya20 Morocco66
1999 Kenya16 Ethiopia24 Tanzania77
2000 Kenya10 Ethiopia47 Uganda68
2001 Kenya24 Ethiopia25 Uganda68
2002 Kenya18 Ethiopia24 Uganda37
2003 Kenya15 Ethiopia28 Uganda48
2004 Kenya20 Ethiopia25 Uganda33
2005 Kenya10 Ethiopia37 Qatar75
2006 Kenya16 Ethiopia24 Eritrea44
2007 Kenya10 Eritrea44 Ethiopia54
2008 Kenya21 Ethiopia28 Uganda37
2009 Kenya20 Ethiopia22 Eritrea72
2010 Kenya10 Ethiopia32 Uganda56
2011 Kenya20 Ethiopia24 Uganda50
2013 Ethiopia23 Kenya26 Morocco65
2015 Kenya19 Ethiopia33 Eritrea52

No comments:

Post a Comment